WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature for its users. Following the launch of 'View Once' for photographs and videos in 2021, the business has now expanded this feature to voice communications. This means you can leave a voice message that will be deleted once it has been heard. According to WhatsApp, this capability is ideal for transmitting sensitive information such as credit card numbers or planning surprise parties. These voice messages, like 'View Once' photographs and movies, are designated with a "one-time" emblem and can only be played once. WhatsApp claims the new perspective once voice messages are encrypted end-to-end by default. WhatsApp has announced that View Once voice messages will be available globally in the coming days.
How to use 'view once' for voice messages
You must select 'View Once' each time you send photographs, audio messages, or videos that will disappear once the recipient opens them once. You will not be able to view it again once it has been sent. To check if a recipient has opened a 'View Once' photo, video, or voice message, read receipts must be enabled.
Send 'View Once' photographs, videos, or audio messages only to persons you know and trust.
Remember that you can preserve your 'View Once' media or voice message in different ways. For example, receivers can use a camera or other device to snap a photo or video of your 'View Once' media before it disappears.
After you've sent encrypted media, it may be retained on WhatsApp's servers for a few weeks.
If a recipient reports 'View Once' media or voice communications, the media or voice messages are sent to WhatsApp.
Receiving media and voice messages with a 'view once' Restriction
When you get a 'View Once' photo, video, or voice message, you must access it within 14 days. Otherwise, it will be removed from the chat. Photos, voice messages, and videos sent or received with 'View Once' media enabled cannot be forwarded, saved, starred, or shared. If the message was unopened at the time of backup, 'View Once' media and voice messages can be restored from backups. If the photo, voice message, or video is opened, it will not be backed up and cannot be restored.