How to Join the Indian Armed Forces

By Consultantsreview Team Thursday, 03 December 2020

How to Join the Indian Armed ForcesYou would be lying if you state that you have never dreamed of becoming a pilot or flying a fighter jet plane. A career in the Indian Air Force (IAF) can literally make this dream a reality for you. A job in the Indian Air Force promises a steep learning curve, an accelerated career,  and a sense of adventure. In this article, we will educate you about the exciting opportunities at the IAF and how you can secure one of them.

There are three branches of the Armed Forces similarly, there are three branches - flying branch, Technical branch and the Ground duty branch (Technical & Non-technical). The Ground Duty Non-technical branch includes the accounts, logistics, admin and medical branches.

How can you get into the IAF?

You can get into the Indian Air Force immediately after completing your 10th/12th standard or after graduation/post-graduation. The aspirants can choose between the Permanent Commission(PC) or a Short Service Commission (SSC granted by the Indian Air Force. If you opt for the Permanent Commission then you can serve in the IAF until your retirement however, if you opt for the SSC then you can serve for 14 years (non-negotiable stint) in the flying branch and 10 years (further extendable) in the ground duty and technical branches. There are other ways to get into the IAF apart from the largely popular AFCAT Recruitment, We will now discuss all the methods in detail.

Stay tuned to the official websites of the Indian Air Force and the UPSC for job notifications.

  1. After Graduation - Through AFCAT & UPSC CDS

    The most popular way to get into the Indian Air Force is the AFCAT exam (Air Force Common Admission Test). The AFCAT exam is conducted twice every year to recruit officers for all three branches of the IAF. The AFCAT Syllabus, eligibility and evaluation criteria will vary based on the branch/position you are applying for. You should possess an undergraduate degree to be eligible for the AFCAT. If you clear the AFCAT then you will make just over INR 56,000 a month which is a more than attractive pay package for a fresher. Candidates who clear the AFCAT exam will have to clear an interview process conducted by the Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) and a medical assessment. If you are applying for a technical post in the IAF then you will have to sit for an additional exam known as the EKT (Engineering Knowledge Test) after the AFCAT.

    The Combined Defense Services exam conducted by the UPSC is also a potential pathway to the Indian Air Force for graduates.

  2. Through National Cadet Corps (NCC)

    The National Cadet Corps or the NCC is also recognized as the 4th line of Defence. It provides trained candidates an opportunity to join the armed forces of our country. Any candidate who has successfully undergone NCC training and cleared the NCC certification exams & secured a ‘C’ certificate from the NCC air wing can apply to join the Indian Air Force.

  3. Through UES

    Aspirants pursuing engineering (B.E/B.Tech) can apply to join the Indian Air Force through the University Entry Scheme aka the UES in their pre-final year. Candidates should have no history of arrears at the time of application and a minimum of 60% in all their subjects to be eligible for this program.

  4. After Post-Graduation

    It is usually easier for aspirants with a postgraduate degree to secure a technical position in the Indian Air Force. It is even more so if you possess a degree in aeronautical engineering or electronics engineering. Any candidate who has successfully completed a PG degree can apply for other branches of the IAF such as the meteorological branch.

  5. After Completing 12th Standard

    Male candidates can join the IAF by appearing for the UPSC NDA (National Defence Academy) recruitment and clearing the subsequent SSB (Services Selection Board) interview. After the candidate successfully completes the training program at the NDA, he can join the Indian Air Force. In case you were wondering, the NDA exam is conducted by the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) twice every year.

  6. After Completing 10th Standard

    Candidates who have completed 10th standard successfully are eligible for civilian posts such as Stenographer, Multi-tasking staff (MTS), Mechanic, LDC (Lower Division Clerk), Content Assistant etc. Candidates who possess a diploma in a relevant field can also apply for such posts. Candidates who have completed their 12th standard can also apply for these roles and preference would be given to those with a higher educational qualification.

Stay tuned to the official websites of the Indian Air Force and the UPSC for job notifications.

We sincerely hope that you realize your dreams of joining the IAF very soon!

Author Bio

Chetan Sharma is a blogger and digital marketer by profession. He handles a network of multiple websites like teacher text & various others. He helps clients all over the world to achieve digital success.

Current Issue